Small Town Iowan Joins Big League Hall of Fame

Posted By: Cookies Sauces & Seasonings / October 26, 2012 / Category: Awards, News

Speed “The Sauceman” Herrig of Cookies Food Products recently received the barbecue industry’s highest honor. While Herrig was named to the Barbecue Hall of Fame in 2008, he was awarded his official trophy at the American Royal Barbecue Hall of Fame induction ceremony in Kansas City on October 6th. Herrig is one of seven past Hall of Fame members and the group welcomed three new inductees to the prestigious group in 2012: Johnny Trigg (Pitmaster category), Henry Ford (Business/Industry category) and Guy Fieri (Celebrity category).

The Barbecue Hall of Fame was co-founded in 2007 by Mike Tucker of Ankeny, IA, and Ray Basso of Raytown, MO. The American Royal, host of the prestigious American Royal Open and Invitational Barbecue Competitions, assumed ownership of the Hall of Fame in 2011. They have plans for a physical location in the future at the American Royal Grounds in Kansas City.

Cookies Food Products also received accolades in the 33rd Annual American Royal Barbecue Sauce Contest. Cookies’ Sweet Hickory Barbecue Sauce took home second place honors in the competition. Many other Cookies products have also been recognized by the American Royal in the past, with Cookies’ Country Blend receiving top honors (Mild Mustard Division) on multiple occasions.